Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

M6L Services: E-Book Platforms Guide

 How do I find eBooks? 

 

M6L provides access to over 1,000,000 eBooks in many subject areas. Our eBooks come from a variety of providers and are available on different platforms: EBSCO, Perlego, Taylor & Francis, and British Council Digital Library. The AUI community can access eBooks wherever and whenever they need them. 

 

Locating e-books 

There are two main ways to find e-books at M6 Library: 

  1. Via the "Search Everything" box on the M6L Homepage

  1. Directly via a databases such as: EBSCO Academic Collection eBooks or Perlego. Click here to explore the full list of databases available through the M6L.

 

 More information & Guidance

Click the tabs below this box to learn more about each of the eBook platforms used by the M6L.

eBooks Tutorials

Searching EBSCO EBOOKS 

This tutorial demonstrates the searching functionality for EBSCO e-books as well as how to read eBooks onlinehttps://vimeo.com/355615206 

 

 Downloading EBSCO eBooks 

This tutorial demonstrates the download functionality for EBSCO ebooks  https://vimeo.com/355959340 

 

   Reading EBSCO eBooks 

This tutorial demonstrates how to read EBSCO eBooks in EBSCOhost and EBSCO Discovery Service online using your browser: https://vimeo.com/355961132 

 

EBSCO Ebooks on the EBSCO Mobile App. 

This tutorial demonstrates how to download and read EBSCO Ebooks using EBSCO Mobile app: 

https://vimeo.com/479878310/1265f2b538 

   eBooks Access & Tutorials

 

Accessing & Searching Perlego (perlego.com)

Perlego is the online library subscription that gives you unlimited access to over 850,000 textbooks and academic titles. The platform is available on app and web. 

  • To date – +850,000 titles  

  • Publishers 3,300  

  • Content with ePub/PDFs = 70%/30% split  

 

  Video Tutorials

 

1. Introductory Tutorial

  

2. Video tutorial on using Perlego  (Student)

 

3. Video tutorial on using Perlego (Faculty)

 

 

 

   eBooks

 

The British Council Digital Library is a rich collection of e-resources including eBooks, academic article databases, films, music, and more. 

 Register for an account today using this link. 

 eBooks

 

 

The M6L currently has perpetual access to many e-books as well as 1220+ open-access books through Taylor & Francis (https://www.taylorfrancis.com/). When searching or browsing you can filter the results by checking the bow “show content I have access to”, books owned by M6L are marked byhttps://libapps-eu.s3.amazonaws.com/accounts/11911/images/T_Fnew.png in the hit list and https://libapps-eu.s3.amazonaws.com/accounts/11911/images/T_Ffull.png in the record of the book. 

There are three types of eBooks available from Taylor & Francis: 


1. Books without DRM - these books have an unlimited number of concurrent users and can be read online or downloaded on both computers and mobile devices, including smart phones. 
2. Books with DRM - these book have only one (1) concurrent user and can only be read online, not downloaded. The limit for one user to access a book with DRM is no more than 120 minutes per session. LU owns 17 titles with DRM (see title list below). 
3. Open Access books - these books are marked with https://libapps-eu.s3.amazonaws.com/accounts/11911/images/T_Foa.pngand are licensed under a Creative Commons CC-BY-NC-ND license. 

Free Online eBook Platforms

  • Bartleby.com: Great Books - Contains the searchable texts of popular reference works, books, and poetry in one convenient web portal 
  • Gutenburg Project - Project Gutenberg is the first and largest single collection of free electronic books. Many popular titles also have an audiobook version available. 
  • Hathi Trust Digital Library - A digital repository for research libraries 
  • Online Books Page - The Online Books Page is a website that facilitates access to books that are freely readable over the Internet.