The Mohammed VI Library offers a selection of different instructional workshops to the AUI community. There are six main workshops, which can be taken sequentially or as stand-alone sessions. In addition, the M6L can offer custom workshops on library tools, resources, or facilities to staff on demand. Faculty who would like to schedule a workshop can use the online book system by clicking the links below.
Have questions? Please feel free to reach out to the Research & Learning Services Unit Head, Ms. Hanane Karkour (h.karkour@aui.ma or x.2170), with any questions about M6L workshops.
|
|
In this workshop, students will be introduced to the Mohammed VI Library resources, services, and facilities. By the end of this workshop, students will be able to locate Library print and electronic resources, use its facilities and services, create a My Millennium account, renew checked out books online, and use other My Millennium Account’s functions. |
|
Information Literacy: An Introduction |
In this in-person workshop, students will be introduced to the essential concepts of information literacy (IL), which the Association of College & Research Libraries defines as "Information literacy is the set of integrated abilities encompassing the reflective discovery of information, the understanding of how information is produced and valued, and the use of information in creating new knowledge and participating ethically in communities of learning". ('Framework,' 2016) |
|
Creating Immersive Stories with ArcGIS StoryMaps |
This workshop provides a complete introduction to ArcGIS StoryMaps, teaching you how to create captivating, interactive stories with maps. You will learn how to use the Story Builder to craft your narrative and then explore how to design and customize maps using the map designer. By the end of this session, you'll know how to add layers, features, and multimedia elements to bring your story to life. Participants need to bring a laptop, and prepare images, text, and other media to incorporate into their StoryMap |
|
Zotero & Citation Management |
This workshop will introduce students to Zotero Citation Management software, which is an easy-to-use citation and reference management software. Upon completion of the workshop, students will be able to collect, organize, and reuse sources they find for their research; create references in the style they need; and organize full text PDFs of articles and reports. NB: For a more useful Zotero learning experience, student should bring their laptop with Zotero installed. Alternatively, there are virtual machines available for a limited number of students in the library's instructional space. NB: This workshop can only be offered in person. |
|
Understanding Plagiarism |
This workshop offers an introduction to (or refresher on) the concept of plagiarism, which "is the act of presenting the words, ideas, images, sounds or the creative expression of others as your own." Plagiarism can present students with problems and obstacles that have serious implications for their academic career. This workshop familiarizes students with the concepts of plagiarism and provides them with tips to avoid falling into this trap. By the end of this workshop, students will be aware of how to track their academic sources, cite them correctly, and check for plagiarism. |
|
Introduction to Archives & Special Collections |
The M6L Archives & Special Collections houses materials of enduring historical and administrative value relating to AUI, Ifrane, and the Middle Atlas. It's collections, which you can learn more about here, can be a valuable contribution to your courses. This workshop introduces students to the Archives & Special Collections through hands on interaction with objects and a guide to how they can use these items in their research. |
|
Library Ebook Training |
This workshop will introduce students to more than 250,000 full-text eBooks available through the Library’s online catalog. They will be taught how to identify, access and use eBooks to their best advantage. By the end of this session, students will be able to search, use and download eBooks. NB: It is preferable that attendees bring their laptop or tablet with them to this training session. |
|
Search Methodology & E-Database Search Strategies |
In this workshop, students will be introduced to the effective use of library resources, and how to implement advanced search strategies, Internet search engines (Google) and search strategy techniques that can be used to find relevant materials easily and quickly. The workshop will be combined with practical training on the Library’s electronic databases such as EBSCOhost, JSTOR, Sage, Taylor & Francis. At the end of this workshop, students will be not only able to use the Library’s resources and website effectively and efficiently, but also conduct searches and find relevant scholarly articles and other academic sources. |
|
The Library of Congress Classification System |
Students will be introduced to the Library of Congress Classification System and its classification scheme. They will study the main classes of the Library of Congress Classification System, and practice sequencing call numbers. By the end of this workshop, students will be able to locate materials on the shelves. |
|
Build a Custom Workshop |
The M6L can also offer custom workshops on library tools, resources, or facilities to faculty and staff on demand. Use this option and provide us with some basic information and we will be in touch with you to coordinate the details. |
Workshops are 45 minutes
Workshops can be offered:
Mondays - Thursdays 9:00AM-1:00PM & 2:00PM-8:00PM
Fridays 9:00AM-1:00PM & 2:00-5:00PM
Sundays 2:30PM-8:00PM
Workshops take place in one of the M6L's two instructional spaces. Your librarian will specify the location.
Book this workshop
