This Course Guide is designed to help you identify some of the resources on Sociology available at Mohammed VI Library. It lists reference materials, books, periodicals, online resources & government documents available in the library’s print collection, electronic databases, and on the free web.
1- Vocabulary List (for searching our catalog at http://libserv.aui.ma or databases)
- Sociology, socialization, deviance, social stratification, family, gender, race and ethnicity.
2- Library of Congress Classes and Subclasses
These classes and subclasses contain books and other materials related to Sociology. Each shelf in the library lists the classes and subclasses that are contained on that shelf.
- H: Social sciences
- HM: Sociology
3- Selected Books in General Collection and their Call Numbers (Main Reading Room, Room 4 and 2nd floor)
This is a general list of books related to different topics covered in your class. Use the vocabulary list above or browse the shelves that hold these books to find many more. **Note: Atlases are found on the reference shelves and in 3 atlas stands in the Main Reading Room.
- An introduction to sociology HM585 .B884 2011
- Sociology in our times : the essentials HM586 .K46 2010
- Sociology : introductory readings HM51 .S66343 2010
- Sociology HM51 .G4448 2009
- Essentials of sociology HM585 .B8533 2008
- Sociology : diversity, conflict, and change HM585 .N458 2005
- The uses of sociology HM585 .U87 2002
4- Reference Collection (Main reading room)
- A dictionary of sociology / John Scott,Gordon Marshall. HM425 .D5735 2005
- Collins dictionary of sociology / David Jary & Julia Jary. HM17 .C65 1995
- Education and sociology : an encyclopedia LC189.95 .E38 2002
5- Print Periodicals / Serials Collection / World Bank (Academic Journals Room, ground floor). Many of these are also available electronically, though they might not be mentioned in section 6 below.
Periodicals:
- American journal of sociology
- Annual review of sociology
- Comparative sociology
- Critical sociology
- Sociological theory.
World Bank:
- New social policy agendas for Europe and Asia : challenges, experiences, and lessons JB/0058/WBA
- Social capital : a multifaceted perspective SY/0279/WBA
- Royaume du Maroc - Note sur la protection sociale SY/0661/MNA
- Kingdom of Morocco - Social protection note SY/0662/MNA
- Child labor : issues and directions for the World Bank SY/0112/WBA
- Measuring social capital : an integrated questionnaire SA/0334/WBA
- Rural, environment, and social development strategies for the Europe and Central Asia region. SY/0485/WBA
- Household welfare, the labor market, and social programs in Albania SY/0222/WBA
6- Databases and E-journals:
The following are important research databases and E-journals that frequently publish research on Sociology. Search our databases.
Selected Databases
- EBSCO Academic Search Complete
- JSTOR
- Sage Journals Online
- ERIC
Selected E-journals in full text
- American Sociological Review
- Annales. Histoire, Sciences Sociales
- Annual Review of Sociology
- Comparative Studies in Society and History
- Contemporary Sociology
- Gender and Society
- State, Culture, and Society
- International Journal of Sociology
- Language in Society
- Law & Society Review
- Social Indicators Research
- American Journal of Sociology
- Annual Review of Sociology
- British Journal of Sociology
- British Journal of Sociology of Education
- Canadian Journal of Sociology
- Canadian Review of Sociology & Anthropology
- Contemporary Sociology
- Critical Sociology (Brill Academic Publishers)
- International Sociology
- Journal of Sociology
- Sociology
- Sociology & Social Research
- Comparative Sociology
7- Selected E-Books:
AUI collection (http://libserv.aui.ma)
Google Books (http://books.google.com):
8- Other Websites
