This Course Guide is designed to help you identify some of the resources on Major works in world literature available at Mohammed VI Library. It lists reference materials, books, periodicals, online resources & government documents available in the library’s print collection, electronic databases, and on the free web.
1- Vocabulary List (for searching our catalog at http://libserv.aui.ma or databases)
- Literature
- Poetry
- Novel
- Writing
- Reading
- Theater
- Communication
- Composition
2- Library of Congress Classes and Subclasses
These classes and subclasses contain books and other materials related to Major works in world literature. Each shelf in the library lists the classes and subclasses that are contained on that shelf.
- LB - Educational Theory and Practice
- PA - Classical Philology (Greek and Latin)
- PB - Modern European Languages, Celtic Languages
- PC - Romance Languages
- PD - Old Germanic and Scandinavian Languages
- PE - English Language
- PF - Dutch, Flemish, and German Languages
- PG - Slavic Languages and Literature
- PH - Finno-Ugrian, Basque Languages & Literature
- PJ-PL - Oriental Languages
- PM - American Indian and Artificial Languages
- PN - Literature, Literary History and Collections
- PQ - Romance Literature
- PR - English Literature
- PS - American Literature
- PT - German Literature
- PZ - Children's Literature
3- Selected Books in General Collection and their Call Numbers (Main Reading Room, Room 4 and 2nd floor)
This is a general list of books related to different topics covered in your class. Use the vocabulary list above or browse the shelves that hold these books to find many more. **Note: Atlases are found on the reference shelves and in 3 atlas stands in the Main Reading Room.
- Comparative literature in an age of globalization / Haun Saussy PN863 .C585 2006
- Other colors: essays and a story / Orhan Pamuk PL248.P34 O8413 2008
- Shahnameh: the Persian book of kings / Abolqasem Ferdowsi PK6456.A13 D29 2007
- Slave songs and the birth of African American poetry / Lauri Ramey PS310.N4 R36 2008
- Twentieth century poetry: selves and situations / Peter Robinson PR603 .R63 2005
- Essays and letters / Friedrich Hölderlin PT2359.H2 A16 2009
- Bacon's essays: including his moral and historical works / F. Bacon PR2206 .A3 2008
- Great essays: an introduction to writing essays / Keith S. Folse PE1413 .F65 2004
- The Cambridge companion to Voltaire / edited by Nicholas Cronk PQ2122 .C36 2009
- 30 days to great French / by Jenny Barriol PC2112.5 .B374 2007
4- Reference Collection (Main reading room)
- The Oxford dictionary of allusions / edited by Andrew Delahunty REF.PN43 .D45 2005
- The beat generation : a Gale critical companion / Lynn M. Zott, project editor REF. PS228.B6 Z68 2003
- Encyclopedia of folklore and literature / editors, Mary Ellen Brown REF.PN41.E48 1998
- MLA handbook for writers of research papers REF.LB2369 .G53 2009
5- Print Periodicals / Serials Collection / World Bank (Academic Journals Room, ground floor)
Periodicals:
- Film quarterly
- Journal of second language writing
- Poetics.
- Review of contemporary fiction
- Text and performance quarterly : TPQ
- World Englishes : WE
- Television & new media
- Publications of the Modern Language Association of America
- The Writer
6- Databases and E-journals:
The following are important research databases and E-journals that frequently publish research on Major works in world literature. Search our databases
Selected Databases
- EBSCO Communication & Mass Media
- EBSCO Academic Search Complete
- JSTOR
- Sage Journals Online
Selected E-journals in full text
- Modern Austrian Literature Academic Search Complete
- Studies in English Literature (Rice) Academic Search Complete
- Journal of Commonwealth Literature Academic Search Complete
- Early American Literature Academic Search Complete
- Journal of Modern Literature Academic Search Complete
- Poetry Academic Search Complete
- American Poetry Review Academic Search Complete
- Assessing Writing Academic Search Complete
- Essays on Canadian Writing Academic Search Complete
- Reading & Writing Quarterly Academic Search Complete
- Journal of Second Language Writing Academic Search Complete
- Communication Research Trends Communication & Mass Media Complete
- Literature in Performance Communication & Mass Media Complete
- Germanistik Communication & Mass Media Complete
- Discourse Studies in Composition Communication & Mass Media Complete
- International Journal of Bilingualism SAGE Journals
7- Selected E-Books:
Google Books (http://books.google.com/):
8- Other Websites
