This Course Guide is designed to help you identify some of the resources on the History of the Arab World available at Mohammed VI Library. It lists reference materials, books, periodicals, online resources & government documents available in the library’s print collection, electronic databases, and on the free web.
1- Vocabulary List (for searching our catalog at http://libserv.aui.ma or databases)
- Arab world, Middle East, North Africa, MENA, Arab countries, Islamic countries, Maghreb/Maghrib
- Arabic history, Arabic culture, Arab civilization, Arab society
- Arab nationalism, pan-Arabism, east and west
- Islam, Muslims, Islam and politics, Islamic history, Islamic culture, Islamic society, Islam and state, Islamic education
2- Library of Congress Classes and Subclasses
These classes and subclasses contain books and other materials related to the History of the Arab World. Each shelf in the library lists the classes and subclasses that are contained on that shelf.
- BP: Islam
- D: History (general)
- DS: History of the Middle East
- DT: History of Africa
3- Selected Books in General Collection and their Call Numbers (Main Reading Room, Room 4 and 2nd floor)
This is a general list of books related to different topics covered in your class. Use the vocabulary list above or browse the shelves that hold these books to find many more. **Note: Atlases are found on the reference shelves and in 3 atlas stands in the Main Reading Room.
- Democracy in the Arab world : Explaining the Deficit JQ1850.A58 D46 2011
- The Arabs : a history DS37.7 .R64 2009
- Arab society and culture : an essential reader HN656 .A73 2009
- The Middle East : a cultural psychology GN502 .G76 2005
- The Arab world HC498.F56 1994
- A history of the Arab peoples DS37.7.H67 1992 c.1
- A survey of Arab history DS37.7.W45 1987
- The Emergence of the Modern Middle East DS62.4.H6 1981
- Arab civilization to A.D. 1500 DS36.855.D85 1971
4- Reference Collection (Main reading room)
- Historic Cities of the Islamic World Ref HT147.5 .H57 2007
- Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World Ref BP40 .E525 2004 v.1 and v.2
- Encyclopedia of the history of Arabic science Ref Q127.A5E53 2000 v.1 to v.3
- Dictionary of modern Arab history: Ref DS38.9 .B53 1998
- موسوعة تاريخ العلوم العربية Ref Q127.A5 E5312 1997 v.1 to v.3
- Dictionary of the Middle East Ref DS43 .H57 1996 c.1
- A Dictionary of ancient history Ref DE5 .D53 1994
- The Middle East political dictionary Ref DS61 .Z58 1984
5- Print Periodicals / Serials Collection / World Bank (Academic Journals Room, ground floor)
Periodicals:
- Arabic Sciences and Philosophy
- Arabica
- Journal of Arabic Literature
- Journal of Early Modern History
- Die Welt Des Islams
- Worldviews: Environment, Culture, Religion
- Arab World Geographer
- Journal of the Economic and Social History of the Orient
- Index Islamicus
6- Databases and E-journals:
The following are important research databases and E-journals that frequently publish research on the History of the Arab World. Search our databases)
Selected Databases
- EBSCO Academic Search Complete
- JSTOR
- Sage Journals Online
- Aluka
- EIU Country Reports and Profiles
Selected E-journals in full text
- Islamic Law and Society JSTOR
- Ars Orientalis JSTOR
- Journal of Near Eastern Studies JSTOR
- Middle East Journal JSTOR
- Middle Eastern Studies JSTOR
- Islam & Science Academic Search Complete
- Journal of Asian and African Studies Sage Journals Online
- Arabian Archaeology and Epigraphy EBSCO Academic Search Complete
- Journal of Arabic and Islamic Studies EBSCO Academic Search Complete
- Arabic and Middle Eastern Literatures EBSCO Academic Search Complete
- Arab Studies Quarterly EBSCO Academic Search Complete
- Middle Eastern Studies EBSCO Academic Search Complete
- Ars Islamica JSTOR
7- Selected E-Books:
Google Books (http://books.google.com):
