Skip to main content

Issues in Contemporary North Africa SSC 5306 : Home

Prepared by: Hajar Zehimi

Issues in Contemporary North Africa SSC 5306

This Course Guide is designed to help you identify some of the resources on Issues in Contemporary North Africa available at Mohammed VI Library. It lists reference materials, books, periodicals, online resources & government documents available in the library’s print collection, electronic databases, and on the free web.

1- Vocabulary List (for searching our catalog at http://libserv.aui.ma or databases)

  •        Issues in Contemporary North Africa
  •        Contemporary North Africa
  •        North Africa
  •        Education, Culture, Politics, Economics, movements and Society in North Africa

2- Library of Congress Classes and Subclasses

These classes and subclasses contain books and other materials related to Issues in Contemporary North Africa. Each shelf in the library lists the classes and subclasses that are contained on that shelf.

  •        JQ : Political institutions and public administration (Asia, Africa, Australia, Pacific Area, etc.)
  •        JQ1870-3981: Africa
  •        DT: History of Africa
  •        DT160-177: North Africa

3- General Collection (Main reading room, room 4 and 2nd floor)

  •        Polity and society in contemporary North Africa                                   DT204.P65 1993 
  •        Contemporary Amazigh issues in Morocco : selected papers              DT313.2 .C66 2010  
  •        Glorious mud!                                                                                         TH1421 .V36 2008  
  •        North Africa : a history from antiquity to the present                            DT167 .N39 2009  
  •        Political ascent : contemporary Islamic movements in North Africa      BP64.A4N677 1997  
  •        Women in the Middle East and North Africa : agents of change           HQ1115 .W59 2011  

4- Reference Collection (Main reading room)

  •        Encyclopedia of the modern Middle East & North Africa                                        DS43 .E53 2004 v.1 to v.4
  •        Encyclopedia of world cultures                                                                              GN307 .E53 1994 v.1 
  •        Africana : the encyclopedia of the African and African American experience     DT14 .A37435 1999  
  •        Encyclopedia of twentieth-century African history                                                DT29 .E53 2003 

5- Print Periodicals / Serials Collection / World Bank (Academic Journals Room, ground floor)

 Periodicals:

  •        JOURNAL OF NORTH AFRICAN STUDIES
  •        AFRICAN AND ASIAN STUDIES

World Bank:

  •        Forestry in the Middle East and North Africa : an implementation review                                        AT/0138/MNA 
  •        Gender and development in the Middle East and North Africa : women in the public sphere.         SY/0281/MNA (+ CD ROM)
  •        Cultural heritage and development : a framework for action in the Middle East and North Africa   SY/0660/MNA
  •        Better governance for development in the Middle East and North Africa                                         BY/0040/MNA
  •        The road not traveled : education reform in the Middle East and North Africa                                 EE/980/MNA
  •        HIV/AIDS in the Middle East and North Africa : the costs of inaction                                               HT/0159/MNA
  •        Globalization and firm competitiveness in the Middle East and North Africa region                         MY/0438/MNA

6- Databases and E-journals:

The following are important research databases and E-journals that frequently publish research on Issues in Contemporary North Africa issues. Search our databases

Selected Databases

  •        EBSCO Academic Search Complete
  •        EBSCO Business Source Complete
  •        EBSCO Communication and Mass Media
  •        Chronicle of Higher education
  •        JSTOR
  •        Sage Journals Online

Selected E-journals

  •        North Africa (Africa Monitor)                           EBSCO Business Source Complete
  •        North Africa Telecommunications report          EBSCO Business Source Complete

7- Selected E-Books:

Google Books (http://books.google.com):