HUM 2301: Islamic Art and Architecture; Dr. SAID ENNAHID: HUM 2301: Islamic Art and Architecture; Dr. SAID ENNAHID

1.  The Rise of Islam and the Artistic Climate of the Period

2.  The Mosque: The Core of Islamic Architecture

3.  The Art and Architecture of the Umayyads (c.650-c.750)

4.  The Art and Architecture of the ‘Abbasids (c.750-c.950)

5.  The Umayyads of al-Andalus (c.750-c.1000)

6.  The Maghreb and al-Andalus

7.  The Nasrids of Granada

8.  Sa'adians and Alawites

9.  Learning and Worship: The Madrasa

10. Islamic Urbanism: Fès as Example

11. Crafts and Guilds: Craftsmen, Materials, and Techniques

12. The Ottomans

• Islamic Art in Context_ Irwin_1997_Nitle (see the attached PDF below).
• Haram: Dictionary of Islamic Architecture_E to J_Petersen_1996_ArchNet

• Ka'ba; Mecca; Medina; mud brick:  Dictionary of Islamic Architecture_K to M_Petersen_1996_ArchNet

• Jonathan M. Bloom and Sheila S. Blair, A Global Guide to Islamic Art, Saudi Aramco World, January/February 2009.
• Hillenbrand, R. (2003). Studying Islamic Architecture: Challenges and Perspectives. Architectural History, 46, 1-18. (see the attached PDF below)
• Grabar, O. (1983). Reflections on the Study of Islamic Art. Muqarnas, 1, 1-14. (see the attached PDF below).

• Hypostyle; Jami: Dictionary of Islamic Architecture_E to J_Petersen_1996_ArchNet

• Maqsura; Mashrabiyya; Masjid; Mihrab; Minaret; Minbar; Mosque; Musalla: Dictionary of Islamic Architecture_K to M_Petersen_1996_ArchNet

• Qairawan; Qibla; Sahn: Dictionary of Islamic Architecture_N to S_Petersen_1996_ArchNet

• Zulla: Dictionary of Islamic Architecture_T to Z_Petersen_1996_ArchNet

• Pedersen, J., Hillenbrand, R., Burton-Page, J., Andrews, P.A., Pijper, G.F., Christie, A.H., Forbes, A.D.W., Freeman-Greenville, G.S.P. and Samb, A., “Masd̲j̲id”, in: Encyclopaedia of Islam, Second Edition, Edited by: P. Bearman, Th. Bianquis, C.E. Bosworth, E. van Donzel, W.P. Heinrichs. Consulted online on 14 June 2016 <http://dx.doi.org/10.1163/1573-3912_islam_COM_0694> First published online: 2012 First print edition: ISBN: 9789004161214, 1960-2007

•  Hillenbrand, Robert. The Mosque in the Medieval Islamic World. In Architecture in Continuity, edited by Sherban Cantacuzino, New York: Aperture. 1985.

• Kuban, Dogan. (1974). Muslim Religious Architecture. Leiden: Brill; see also Kuban, Dogan. (1985). Muslim Religious Architecture. Leiden: Brill.  Available at Brill, AUI Lib. Catalogue (see below).

• The Umayyads_Hillenbrand_1999_Nitle On file (see below).

• Umayyads: Dictionary of Islamic Architecture_T to Z_Petersen_1996_ArchNet

• Damascus Great Mosque; Dome of the Rock: Dictionary of Islamic Architecture_A to D_Petersen_1996_ArchNet

• Khirbet al-Mafjar; Mshatta: Dictionary of Islamic Architecture_K to M_Petersen_1996_ArchNet

• Qasr al-Hayr East (Qasr al-Hayr al-Sharqi); Qasr al-Hayr West (Qasr al-Hayr al-Gharbi); Qusayr Amra: Dictionary of Islamic Architecture_N to S_Petersen_1996_ArchNet

• Creswell, K.A.C., “Architecture”, in: Encyclopaedia of Islam, Second Edition, Edited by: P. Bearman, Th. Bianquis, C.E. Bosworth, E. van Donzel, W.P. Heinrichs. Consulted online on 14 June 2016 <http://dx.doi.org/10.1163/1573-3912_islam_COM_0062> First published online: 2012 First print edition: ISBN: 9789004161214, 1960-2007

•  Tabbaa, Yasser, “Architecture”, in: Encyclopaedia of Islam, THREE, Edited by: Kate Fleet, Gudrun Krämer, Denis Matringe, John Nawas, Everett Rowson. Consulted online on 14 June 2016

• Bosworth, C.E., Darley-Doran, R.E. and Freeman-Greenville, G.S.P., “Sikka”, in: Encyclopaedia of Islam, Second Edition, Edited by: P. Bearman, Th. Bianquis, C.E. Bosworth, E. van Donzel, W.P. Heinrichs. Consulted online on 14 June 2016 <http://dx.doi.org/10.1163/1573-3912_islam_COM_1076> First published online: 2012 First print edition: ISBN: 9789004161214, 1960-2007

• Grabar, Oleg. 1993. Umayyad Palaces Reconsidered. In Ars Orientalis, Vol. 23. Gülru Necipoglu, ed. Ann Arbour: Department of History, University of Michigan.

• Virtual Walking Tours: al-Haram al-Sharif

• Baghdad: Dictionary of Islamic Architecture_A to D_Petersen_1996_ArchNet

• Samarra: Dictionary of Islamic Architecture_N to S_Petersen_1996_ArchNet

• Ziyada: Dictionary of Islamic Architecture_T to Z_Petersen_1996_ArchNet

• Approaching the Qur'an_The Early Revelations_Sells_1999_Nitle (see attached pdf below)

• The Introduction of Paper to the Islamic Lands_Muqarnas_Bloom_2000_ArchNet 

•  “Oldest” Qur’an fragments found in Birmingham University, for details, visit:

•  Creswell, K.A.C., “Architecture”, in: Encyclopaedia of Islam, Second Edition, Edited by: P. Bearman, Th. Bianquis, C.E. Bosworth, E. van Donzel, W.P. Heinrichs. Consulted online on 14 June 2016 <http://dx.doi.org/10.1163/1573-3912_islam_COM_0062> First published online: 2012 First print edition: ISBN: 9789004161214, 1960-2007

•  Tabbaa, Yasser, “Architecture”, in: Encyclopaedia of Islam, THREE, Edited by: Kate Fleet, Gudrun Krämer, Denis Matringe, John Nawas, Everett Rowson. Consulted online on 14 June 2016

•  Welch, A.T., Paret, R. and Pearson, J.D., “al-Ḳurʾān”, in: Encyclopaedia of Islam, Second Edition, Edited by: P. Bearman, Th. Bianquis, C.E. Bosworth, E. van Donzel, W.P. Heinrichs. Consulted online on 14 June 2016 <http://dx.doi.org/10.1163/1573-3912_islam_COM_0543>First published online: 2012 First print edition: ISBN: 9789004161214, 1960-2007

• Cordoba Great Mosque: Dictionary of Islamic Architecture_A to D_Petersen_1996_ArchNet

• Squinch: Dictionary of Islamic Architecture_N to S_Petersen_1996_ArchNet

• Sheila Blair, Ivories of al Andalus, Saudi Aramco World, September/October 2001

• Ennahid, Said (2011), Cities of the Almohad Empire. World History Encyclopedia, Era 5: Intensified Hemispheric Interactions, 1000-1500. Editor: Alfred J. Andrea, Vol. 9, pp. 38-40, ABC-CLIO, Santa Barbara, CA. (see attached PDF below)  

•  Bonine, Michael E. (1990), The Sacred Direction and City Structure: A Preliminary Analysis of the Islamic Cities of Morocco, Muqarnas, Vol. 7 (1990), pp. 50-72. (See the attached PDF below).

•  Almohads: Dictionary of Islamic Architecture_A to D_Petersen_1996_ArchNet

• Fez: Dictionary of Islamic Architecture_E to J_Petersen_1996_ArchNet

• Marrakesh; Morocco; Muqarnas: Dictionary of Islamic Architecture_K to M_Petersen_1996_ArchNet

• Pise; Rabat; Ribat; Stucco: Dictionary of Islamic Architecture_N to S_Petersen_1996_ArchNet

• Tilework; Zilij: Dictionary of Islamic Architecture_T to Z_Petersen_1996_ArchNet

• Deverdun, G., “al-Ḳarawiyyīn”, in: Encyclopaedia of Islam, Second Edition, Edited by: P. Bearman, Th. Bianquis, C.E. Bosworth, E. van Donzel, W.P. Heinrichs. Consulted online on 20 June 2016 <http://dx.doi.org/10.1163/1573-3912_islam_COM_0446> First published online: 2012 First print edition: ISBN: 9789004161214, 1960-2007

•  Ferhat, Halima, “Tinmal”, in: Encyclopaedia of Islam, Second Edition, Edited by: P. Bearman, Th. Bianquis, C.E. Bosworth, E. van Donzel, W.P. Heinrichs. Consulted online on 20 June 2016 <http://dx.doi.org/10.1163/1573-3912_islam_SIM_7560> First published online: 2012 First print edition: ISBN: 9789004161214, 1960-2007

•  Lévi-Provençal, E. and Troin, J.-F., “Ribāṭ al-Fatḥ”, in: Encyclopaedia of Islam, Second Edition, Edited by: P. Bearman, Th. Bianquis, C.E. Bosworth, E. van Donzel, W.P. Heinrichs. Consulted online on 20 June 2016 <http://dx.doi.org/10.1163/1573-3912_islam_SIM_6283> First published online: 2012 First print edition: ISBN: 9789004161214, 1960-2007

• Alhambra: Dictionary of Islamic Architecture_A to D_Petersen_1996_ArchNet

• Granada: Dictionary of Islamic Architecture_E to J_Petersen_1996_ArchNet

• Madinat al-Zahra': Dictionary of Islamic Architecture_K to M_Petersen_1996_ArchNet

• Virtual Walking Tours: The Alhambra

• Egypt and North Africa_ Blair&Bloom_1994_Nitle On file (see the attached PDF below).

• Iwan: Dictionary of Islamic Architecture_E to J_Petersen_1996_ArchNet

• Madrasa: Dictionary of Islamic Architecture_K to M_Petersen_1996_ArchNet

• Waqf: Dictionary of Islamic Architecture_T to Z_Petersen_1996_ArchNet

• Pedersen, J., Makdisi, G., Rahman, Munibur and Hillenbrand, R., “Madrasa”, in: Encyclopaedia of Islam, Second Edition, Edited by: P. Bearman, Th. Bianquis, C.E. Bosworth, E. van Donzel, W.P. Heinrichs. Consulted online on 14 June 2016 <http://dx.doi.org/10.1163/1573-3912_islam_COM_0610> First published online: 2012 First print edition: ISBN: 9789004161214, 1960-2007

• Ennahid, Said (2002), Access regulation in Islamic urbanism: the case of medieval Fès, The Journal of North African Studies, 7: 3, 119 — 134 (see the attached PDF below).

•  Ennahid, Said (2013), States, trade, and ethnicities in the Maghreb. The Oxford Handbook of African Archaeology, Editors: Peter Mitchell and Paul Lane, pp. 817-827, Oxford University Press, Oxford (see the attached PDF below).

• Abu-Lughod, Janet L. (1987), "The Islamic City--Historic Myth, Islamic Essence, and Contemporary Relevance."International Journal of Middle East Studies 19.2 (1987): 155-76. (see the attached PDF below).

• Muhtasib: Dictionary of Islamic Architecture_K to M_Petersen_1996_ArchNet

• Marçais, G., “Bināʾ”, in: Encyclopaedia of Islam, Second Edition, Edited by: P. Bearman, Th. Bianquis, C.E. Bosworth, E. van Donzel, W.P. Heinrichs. Consulted online on 20 June 2016 <http://dx.doi.org/10.1163/1573-3912_islam_SIM_1422> First published online: 2012 First print edition: ISBN: 9789004161214, 1960-2007

• Virtual Walking Tours: The Sulaymaniyya Mosque

•  The Ottomans (Video Projection and discussion)