This is the "Home" page of the "Comparative Political Systems PSC 2301" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Comparative Political Systems PSC 2301   Tags: psc 2301  

Prepared by: Amal El Omari
Last Updated: Jun 24, 2012 URL: http://libguides.aui.ma/content.php?pid=346711 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Comparative Political Systems PSC 2301

This Course Guide is designed to help you identify some of the resources on Comparative Political Systems available at Mohammed VI Library. It lists reference materials, books, periodicals, online resources & government documents available in the library’s print collection, electronic databases, and on the free web.

1- Vocabulary List (for searching our catalog at http://libserv.aui.ma or databases)

  •       Politics, contemporary politics, politics and government, world politics
  •       Political science, political statistics, political theory, political analysis
  •       Comparative politics, comparative government, policy sciences, public policy, government policy
  •       Democracy, democratic states, democratization, dictatorship, monarchy, parliament
  •       The state, systems of government, federal government, national government, local government, municipal government
  •       Political parties, pressure groups, balance of power, communities, activism
  •       Social movements, conservatism, liberalism, labor, peace, protest
  •       Political participation, representation, representative government, voting, elections, electoral politics
  •       Authority, bureaucracy, citizenship, civics, ideology, liberty, nationalism, populism, power, radicalism, sovereignty
2- Library of Congress Classes and Subclasses

These classes and subclasses contain books and other materials related to Comparative Political Systems. Each shelf in the library lists the classes and subclasses that are contained on that shelf.

  •       HM: Sociology (general)
  •       HN: Social History and Conditions
  •       JA: Political Science (general)
  •       JC: Political Theory
  •       JF-JS: Political Institutions
  •       JZ: International Relations

3- Selected Books in General Collection and their Call Numbers (Main Reading Room, Room 4 and 2nd floor)

This is a general list of books related to different topics covered in your class. Use the vocabulary list above or browse the shelves that hold these books to find many more. **Note: Atlases are found on the reference shelves and in 3 atlas stands in the Main Reading Room.

  •       American government : brief version                                                                              JK274 .W67 2012
  •       Comparing public policies: issues and choices in industrialized countries                      H97 .A32 2011
  •       Elections and distributive politics in Mubarak's Egypt                                                       JQ3892 .B53 2011
  •       A history of political thought : from antiquity to the present                                             JA83 .H143 2011
  •       Writing a research paper in political science                                                                    JA86 .B34 2007
  •       Elements in political science                                                                                              JA66 .B35 1999
  •       Power in contemporary politics : theories, practices, globalizations                                JC330.P6948 2000
  •       Political parties and the Internet : net gain?                                                                       JF799 .P638 2003
  •       Social movements : an introduction                                                                                   HN17.5 .D45 2006
  •       The logic of democracy : reconciling equality, deliberation, and minority protection         JC423 .M384 2009
  •       Comparative politics in a globalizing world                                                                        JF128 .H39 2005
  •       Comparative politics : political economy, political culture, and political interdependence  JF51 .P36 2006
  •       Introduction to comparative politics : concepts and processes                                        JF128 .W5 2000
  •       Multiculturalism and political theory                                                                                    HM1271 .M843151 2007
  •       Contemporary political theory : a reader                                                                            JA71 .C584 2004

4- Reference Collection (Main reading room)

  •       The Encyclopedia of politics and religion                                    Ref BL65.P7 E53 1998 v.1 to v.2
  •       The far right in Europe : an encyclopedia                                   Ref JN12 .F37 2008
  •       Encyclopedia of American social movements                             Ref HN57 .E594 2004 v.1 to v.4
  •       The Middle East political dictionary                                              Ref DS61 .Z58 1984
  •       Encyclopedia of nationalism                                                        Ref  JC311 .E4996 2001 v. 1 to v. 2
  •       The human rights encyclopedia                                                   Ref JC571 .L523 2001 v. 1 to v. 3
  •       The Greenwood encyclopedia of international relations             Ref JZ1160 .N65 2002 v.1 to v. 3
  •       The Oxford companion to politics of the world                            Ref JA61 .O95 2001
  •       Encyclopedia of European social history from 1350 to 2000       Ref HN373 .E63 2001 v.1 to v. 3
  •       Central currents in social theory                                                  Ref HM435 .C45 2000 v.1 to v. 3
  •       A dictionary of sociology                                                             Ref HM425 .D5735 2005
  •       The encyclopedia of civil liberties in America                              Ref JC599.U5 E53 2005

5- Print Periodicals / Serials Collection / World Bank (Academic Journals Room, ground floor)

Periodicals:

  •       Politics and Society
  •       Politique Etrangère
  •       Totalitarian Movements and Political Religions
  •       Perspectives on Politics
  •       PS: Political Science and Politics
  •       Asian Journal of Political Science
  •       Palestine-Israel: Journal of Politics, Economics and Culture
  •       American Political Science Review

6- Databases and E-journals:

The following are important research databases and E-journals that frequently publish research on Comparative Political Systems. Search our databases.

Selected Databases

  •       Sage Journals Online
  •       EBSCO Academic Search Complete
  •       EBSCO Communication and Mass Media
  •       JSTOR
  •       CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online

Selected E-journals in full text

  •       Harvard Business Review                     EBSCO Business Source Premier
  •       Journal of Pan African Studies               EBSCO Academic Search Complete
  •       Progress in Human Geography              Sage Journals Online and EBSCO Academic Search Complete
  •       Administration and Society                     Sage Journals Online and EBSCO Academic Search Complete
  •       American Politics Research                    Sage Journals Online and EBSCO Academic Search Complete
  •       Comparative Political Studies                   Sage Journals Online and EBSCO Academic Search Complete
  •       European Journal of Political Theory       Sage Journals Online
  •       Journal of Theoretical Politics                  Sage Journals Online
  •       Political Science                                       Sage Journals Online
  •       Political Theory                                         Sage Journals Online and JSTOR
  •       Journal of Political Philosophy                  EBSCO Academic Search Complete
  •       Annual Review of Political Science          EBSCO Academic Search Complete
  •       Journal of Political Ideologies                    EBSCO Academic Search Complete
  •       Political Behavior                                       EBSCO Academic Search Complete and JSTOR
  •       Perspectives on Political Science             EBSCO Academic Search Complete
  •       Political Quarterly                                      EBSCO Academic Search Complete
  •       Political Science Quarterly                        EBSCO Academic Search Complete and JSTOR
  •       Political Studies                                         EBSCO Academic Search Complete
  •       American Journal of Political Science       JSTOR
  •       Foreign Affairs                                          JSTOR
  •       International Affairs                                   JSTOR
  •       Comparative Politics                                   JSTOR

7- Selected E-Books:

AUI collection (http://libserv.aui.ma)

  •       The State in a Changing World/The World Bank

Google Books (http://books.google.com)

8- Other Websites

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip