This Course Guide is designed to help you identify some of the resources on Chemistry and the Environment available at Mohammed VI Library. It lists reference materials, books, periodicals, online resources & government documents available in the library’s print collection, electronic databases, and on the free web.
1- Vocabulary List (for searching our catalog at http://libserv.aui.ma or databases)
- Chemistry, environment, organic chemistry, environmental chemistry, environmental geochemistry, environmental engineering
- Atomic structure, chemical bonding, chemical reactions, acid, base, redox, oxidation-reduction
- Consumer chemistry, chemical production
- Global warming, sustainability, renewable energy, recycling
- Environmental microbiology, biochemistry, water chemistry, aquatic chemistry, soil chemistry
- Toxicology, pollution, pollutants, factory and trade waste, green chemistry
2- Library of Congress Classes and Subclasses
These classes and subclasses contain books and other materials related to Chemistry and the Environment. Each shelf in the library lists the classes and subclasses that are contained on that shelf.
- GE: Environment
- QD: Chemistry
- QR: Microbiology
- S: Agriculture
- TD: Environmental Technology
- TP: Chemical Technology
3- Selected Books in General Collection and their Call Numbers (Main Reading Room, Room 4 and 2nd floor)
This is a general list of books related to different topics covered in your class. Use the vocabulary list above or browse the shelves that hold these books to find many more. **Note: Atlases are found on the reference shelves and in 3 atlas stands in the Main Reading Room.
- Environment and food GT2850 .S24 2012
- Chemical speciation in the environment QD75.3 .C48 2002
- An Introduction to environmental chemistry QE516.4 .I57 2004
- Chemistry for green environment QH541.15.C44 C482 2005
- Chemistry for green environment QH541.15.C44 C482 2005
- Environmental microbiology QR100 .S53 2005
- Environmental engineering: fundamentals, sustainability, design TA170 .E628 2010
- Fundamental concepts of environmental chemistry TD193 .S63 2005
4- Reference Collection (Main reading room)
- The environment dictionary Ref. GE10 .K45 1998
- Encyclopedia of environmental microbiology Ref. QR100.B58 2002 v.1-6
- Dictionary of renewable resources Ref. S584.4 .D53 1997
- The Wiley encyclopedia of energy and the environment Ref. TJ163.235.W55 1996 v.1-2
5- Print Periodicals / Serials Collection / World Bank (Academic Journals Room, ground floor)
Periodicals:
- Applied and Environmental Microbiology
- Chemistry of Materials
- E: Environmental Magazine
- Education in Chemistry
- Environmental Forensics
- Chemical Society Reviews
World Bank:
- Salinity management for sustainable irrigation: AY/0255/WBA
- Rural development, natural resources, and the environment: AY/0255/WBA
- L'agriculture et l'environnement: AY/0070/WBA
- Environmental health: HY/0503/WBA
- Fuel for thought: PY/0120/WBA
6- Databases and E-journals:
The following are important research databases and E-journals that frequently publish research on Chemistry and the Environment. Search our database.
Selected Databases
- EBSCO GreenFILE (mostly abstracts, some full text)
- EBSCO Academic Search Complete
- JSTOR
- Sage Journals Online
Selected E-journals in full text
- Biological Chemistry EBSCO Academic Search Complete
- Chemical Engineering EBSCO Academic Search Complete
- Environmental Health Perspectives JSTOR
- International Journal of Chemical Kinetics EBSCO Academic Search Complete
- Journal of Atmospheric Chemistry EBSCO Academic Search Complete
- Journal of Chemical Physics EBSCO Academic Search Complete
- Journal of Histochemistry and Cytochemistry Sage Journals Online
7- Selected E-Books:
Google Books (http://books.google.com):
8- Other Websites
