Skip to main content

Introduction to Digital Humanities: Databases & Journals

Tool Directories

Dirt Directory: (http://dirtdirectory.org/ ) is a registry of digital research tools for scholarly use. DiRT makes it easy for digital humanists and others conducting digital research to find and compare resources ranging from content management systems to music OCR, statistical analysis packages to mind mapping software.

TAPoR (http://tapor.ca/home) : (Text Analysis Portal for Research) is a portal that allows you to discover text manipulation, analysis, and visualization tools, read tool reviews and recommendations, and tag, comment, rate, and review collaboratively. 

Databases Search Boxes

Research databases

JSTOR Search Box

Text Analusis

  • Mallet (http://mallet.cs.umass.edu/) is a Java-based package for statistical natural language processing, document classification, clustering, topic modelling, information extraction, and other machine learning applications to text. Topic models are useful for analyzing large collections of unlabeled text and the MALLET topic modelling package is used frequently in digital humanities textual analysis. 
  • Voyant tool: (https://voyant-tools.org/): is a web-based text reading and analysis environment. It's designed to make it easy for you to work with your own text or collection of texts in a variety of formats, including plain text, HTML, XML, PDF, RTF, and MS Word.  Once you have loaded your textual corpus.

 

Data Visualization


Tableau (https://www.tableau.com/): is a data visualization tool that is being used to help analyze data and illustrate the patterns and insights behind them.

Gephi (https://gephi.org/): is graphing software that provides a way to explore data through visualization and network analysis.

Digital Publishing

Scalar (https://scalar.me/anvc/) is a free, open source authoring and publishing platform that’s designed to make it easy for authors to write long-form, born-digital scholarship online. Scalar enables users to assemble media from multiple sources and juxtapose them with their own writing in a variety of ways, with minimal technical expertise required.

  • Drupal for Humanists  (http://drupal.forhumanists.org/) is intended for scholars, librarians, museum and archive professionals, and others with a humanistic background who want to build robust digital projects using the open source content management system Drupal.