Skip to main content

Management Information Systems MIS 3301: Home

Prepared by: Rachid Zegrane

Management Information Systems MIS 3301

Management Information Systems MIS 3301 introduces basic information systems concepts and computerbased technologies. Emphasis is on understanding the role of information in the business organization, and how available computer-based technologies enable the manager to exploit and manage information and enhance the success of the firm.

This Course Guide is designed to help you identify some of the resources on  Management Information Systems  available at Mohammed VI Library. It lists reference materials, books, periodicals, online resources & government documents available in the library’s print collection, electronic databases, and on the free web.


1- Vocabulary List (for searching our catalog at http://libserv.aui.ma or databases)

  •      MIS: Management Information System
  •      Information management resources 
  •      Decision support systems
  •      Data warehousing
  •      System analysis
  •      System life cycle
  •      System design
  •      Information technology
  •      Information technology security/privacy
  •      Knowledge management
  

2- Library of Congress Classes and Subclasses

These classes and subclasses contain books and other materials related to   Management Information Systems  Each shelf in the library lists the classes and subclasses that are contained on that shelf.

  •           HD30.2-.213: Management Information Systems  
  •           HF 5546-HF5549.6: Office Management   
  •           T58.6 - T58.62:   Management Information Systems

3- Selected Books in General Collection and their Call Numbers (Main Reading Room, Room 4 and 2nd floor)

This is a general list of books related to different topics covered in your class. Use the vocabulary list above or browse the shelves that hold these books to find many more. **Note: Atlases are found on the reference shelves and in 3 atlas stands in the Main Reading Room.

  •        Enterprise systems for management                                                                                                             HD30.213 .M68 2009  
  •        Business process management systems : strategy and implementation                                                        HD58.87 .C429 2006  
  •        Information systems : an business approach                                                                                                 HD30.213 .B46 2005 
  •        Business information systems : analysis, design and practice                                                                        HF5548.2 .C88 2004
  •        Management information systems : managing information technology in the business enterprise                HF5548.32 .O27 2004  
  •        Essentials of management information systems : managing the digital firm                                                 T58.6.L3753 2003 
  •        Management information systems                                                                                                                  T58.6.L376 2002  

4- Reference Collection (Main reading room)

  •         The Blackwell encyclopedic dictionary of management information systems                        Ref. HF5548.2 B524 1999 

5- Print Periodicals / Serials Collection(Academic Journals Room, ground floor)


Periodicals:

  •        Information & Software Technology
  •        International Journal of Project Management  
  •        Managerial and Decision Economics
  •        MIS Quarterly: Management Information Systems                                                

6- Databases and E-journals

The following are important research databases and E-journals that frequently publish research on Management Information Systems:


Selected Databases

  •       Business Source Complete
  •       ACM Digital Library
  •       Academic Search Complete
  •       JSTOR
  •       Sage Journals Online
  •       Taylor & Francis SSH

Selected E-journals in full text

  •       MIS Quarterly   Business Source Complete
  •       MIS Quarterly Executive     Business Source Comlpete
  •       Information Systems Management    Business Source Complte
  •       Journal of Management Information Systems    JSTOR
  •       ACM Transactions on Management Information Systems   ACM Digital Library

7- Selected E-Books:

 

8- Other Websites